The Touge-Otaku

Driven by the Love of the Drive

My NEW Favorite Supercar…..And I Actually Mean it This Time!

Oh yes, I am in love…

So McLaren finally dropped the skinny on their new upcoming road car, the MP4-12C. And here we go: 592 horsepower. Just under 3000 lbs. A top speed of 205 mph. And here’s my two favorite bits: 0-60mph in 3.3 seconds and 0-120mph in 8.9! For reference, the car’s main rival the Ferrari 458 does those sprints in 3.2 seconds to 60 and about 10 seconds to 120. That my friends is the power of having no weight. And wanna know something even more impressive? McLaren say that if you check the option box for the stickier Perelli P-Zero Corsa tires, you’ll reduce the 0-60mph time to just under 3.1 seconds! To put that into perspective, the track-only Pagani Zonda R does the sprint in a claimed 3 seconds flat. So as near as makes no difference, this road-car is as fast a V12 powered hyper-racer.

I have to be honest, I am quite impressed at the numbers this new McLaren is capable of. And what makes it more impressive is the fact that the MP4-12C, if anything, was built more for going around corners rather than outright speed. All reports say that the 12C is an absolute joy to drive, and an extremely fast track-tool to boot. Plus, it’s a McLaren, which means due to my Formula 1 loyalties I was already predispositioned to love this car.

Now I know some people out there are saying that the car looks too understated. To that I say……are you stupid??? Sure it may be no Lamborghini when it comes to flash. But seriously, come on. Overall it’s a very clean and dare I say, a tiny bit beautiful. People who say this is too conservative and boring are just finding reasons to nit-pick. Any average person will notice this thing coming down a city street, I’m sure of it.

Ladies and gentlemen, I think I’m in love (again, for real this time).

2 responses to “My NEW Favorite Supercar…..And I Actually Mean it This Time!

  1. Pingback: The Big One: 12C vs 458. My Choice… « The Kuruma-Otaku

  2. Pingback: Irrelevant Debate: McLaren MP4-12C vs Ferrari 458 Italia « The Touge Otaku

Leave a Reply

