The Touge-Otaku

Driven by the Love of the Drive

Quick Take: Gran Turismo 5

When this hype-beast of a game was finally released, I was all over the online reviews. I will admit that it was a game I was greatly anticipating, hell I was even planning on buying a PS3 JUST to buy the game really. But the game got mediocre reviews, and many griped over quite a few short comings. The more I read, the more I didn’t want it. I haven’t even played the game and yet I was beginning to hate it…

And on an impulse (a friend was in need of money and was selling his PS3), I bought my second PS3 and my copy of GT5.

And I have to say about it is this: it’s bloody addicting. YES, the game has quite a many faults (long load times even after a MASSIVE install, only 200 of the touted 1000 cars are fully detailed, ALL the cars sound like vacuum cleaners). But I can’t for the life of me put it down. For all it’s faults, it’s still an excellent racing game. If you have any remote interest in high-performance driving with a sense of realism, it simply can’t be beat. I’m not gonna say it’s better than Forza 3, but I’m also not going to say that Forza is better either. Both have their strengths and weaknesses. But I will say that GT5 is a pretty damn good game, and it *may* have been worth the PS3 purchase. Maybe.

Leave a Reply

