The Touge-Otaku

Driven by the Love of the Drive

My 35 Seconds with the GT-R

35 seconds may not sound like much to you, but for someone as obsessed with cars as me 35 seconds on a track with the GT-R is enough to make my day, and then some.

So a Sunday spent at the local autocross is already enough for me. And coming 2nd in class is even better! It was already shaping up to be a great day. And then during our fun-runs, safety-steward Brad asked me if I wanted a run in his GT-R. At first I thought he meant a ride-along, which I would have gladly said yes to. But no, he meant drive it! Look, I know all the “cool-kids” try to hide their excitement now days, but I’m not one of them. I was visually giddy, I couldn’t even get the race-harness on properly!

Now, the car. 35 seconds may not sound like a lot, but it was enough time to leave quite an impression on me. This was the first time I’ve really driven a serious-performance car all-out mind you, so bear with me. The first thing is the power. There was one straight on our autocross course where Brad told me to get on it, so I did, and oh boy!! I was simply not ready for how much thrust the GT-R can produce. Another thing that stood out to me was all the systems the car has to aid you in going around a corner very fast. It’s a really odd feeling for someone who’s used to driving with none of those systems. In my WRX, I know that when the car begins to understeer, you lift off the throttle a bit to help correct it. In the GT-R though, there’s no need to. You need to just keep your foot down and trust that the electronic-wizardry will handle everything, and it will. It’s quite different from what I’m used to, and it would probably take me some time to get accustomed to. Amusingly though, with all the stuff I read about the GT-Rs traction control systems and such, I was surprised over the fact of how predictable the GT-R felt in some regards. For example the understeer, which made it feel at times a lot like my WRX. With all the great things you read about the car, it’s easy to forget it is…….well, a car! Still though, what a car.

It was an amazing experience, and I am forever grateful for the opportunity. The car is really as awesome as they say it is. And all that being said………I think I’d still have a Porsche 911. Don’t know why really, but to me the 911 just has more character than the GT-R. If I were given a GT-R, I’d defend it to the end of the earth. But if I had to put down money of my own for a car, I think I’d rather have a 911 C2S.

Anyway, enough about the GT-R. Here’s more pics illustrating why Autocross is so awesome!! If you live on Oahu, and are even slightly interested in high-performance driving, you need to try it out at least once!

2 responses to “My 35 Seconds with the GT-R

  1. Yuudai November 8, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    Awesome Joey! Lucky guy, maybe sometime I’ll get to drive it. But im not sure I’d want to, it would make my car feel that much slower.

  2. Pingback: I’ve Got a Confession… « The Touge-Otaku

Leave a Reply

