The Touge-Otaku

Driven by the Love of the Drive

Driven: 2011 Subaru WRX

2011 Subaru WRX, originally uploaded by touge-n00b.

So I finally got some personal time with the re-upped wide-bodied 2011 Impreza WRX. And it sucks….

….okay that was complete lie! It’s brilliant! It drives as you’d expect an Impreza WRX to drive, well maybe a little softer than you expect. It’s still no Legacy when it comes to softness, which is a good thing. As this thing had literally less than 10 miles on it, I didn’t want to go flat-out, but I’m sure with 265 HP and 244 lb-ft of torque it can “do the job”. It certainly feels like it can. The shifter is a bit odd feeling for me, but that’s nothing a good short-shifter can’t fix (which in case you didn’t know, you can buy directly from Subaru). Clutch feel is good, soft where it counts, but not soft-enough so it doesn’t. Oh yeah, and did I mention how they sound?? Seriously, they sound like they have cat-backs straight out of the factory!

And this time around, base-model WRXs get a bunch of bells-and-whistles standard. I especially love that Bluetooth phone AND audio-streaming come standard! And while the Impreza rent-mobile feel interior does pop it’s head into the picture a bit, the WRX comes with enough fluff to keep a proper boy-racer pleased with it’s fabulous-looking gauges and over-use of red stitching throughout the cabin.

So, it’s safe to say that the WRX is officially back, and I’d go as far as to say that they’re even better than the old GDs (02-07 for you non-subaristas). And yes in case you were wondering, I am seriously considering trading in the Legacy and buying this very car you see pictured here. I know I wanted an STI, but for the same price of a used 08, I can get a brand-new 11 WRX that’s literally like 70% of car the STI is. Man, I really hate making tough decisions like these. Stay tuned I guess…

Leave a Reply

