The Touge-Otaku

Driven by the Love of the Drive

What Was I Thinking?

I literally came within a signature away of buying this BMW. Seriously, it was literally THAT close. I had the pen in my hand…

But having spent 3 hour in the dealership (and being surrounded by Ferraris and Lambos didn’t help!), I pondered and pondered and pondered some more. My brain literally hurt at the end of the night. The car was a 2006 330ci Cabriolet with the “ZHP” Performance Pack. The ZHP was what drew me in, it’s basically a baby-M3 in my mind. It sounds wonderful with its aggressive exhaust and drives wonderfully with its sport suspension. And that M-Sport short-throw shifter is one of the best in the business. It’s everything I wanted in a BMW. Except that it’s a convertible.With a beige interior. Seriously, that’s NOT me. I had to really stop and remind myself that. I have no problem with convertibles, but I’m too much of a performance guy to want one myself. The exception to this rule of course is car’s that were built from the ground up as drop-tops (Honda S2000, BMW Z4, Mazda Miata, Porsche Boxster to name a few). Convertibles that were made by simply chopping the roof off a coupe just don’t do it for me. There will always be that inherent floppiness, no matter how stiff the chassis is. And I just don’t know if I could live with that. Sure, no top means I can hear that glorious straight-six even better, especially with the ZHP exhaust, but is that really worth the performance hit? For me, no way.

So at the end of the night, I walked away from the deal. And after thinking about it all last night and this morning, I’ve come to realize that I’m not ready to own a BMW at this point in my life. See, the thing is, yes I can afford to buy one. But what happens if in a year something happens and I’m stuck with a repair bill I can’t afford? I usually don’t think of those types of things when looking at a car, but getting that close to buying one, made me realize it. It’s simple fact that maintenance on a German-luxury is more expensive than a Japanese cars. If you can afford it, I think it’s worth it though. The thing is, I just don’t know if I can afford it.

So in the end, I’ve more or less decided to wait on that first BMW. The thing is, I can afford a BMW I like, but I can’t afford one I’d love. When I say that, I’m talking about one in warranty, or brand-new. I think if I want to buy a BMW, I should buy one brand-new, so I get their no-cost maintenance as well. But I can’t afford brand-new at this stage in life, so there you go.

So, where do I go from here? Ahem….

I’m sorry, I know I’ve been bashing Japanese cars lately,  but I really am only kidding myself. I have Subaru in my blood, and I can’t get them out of my system, no matter how much I try! All those spots you see on TV are absolutely true, it’s something only Subaru owners ever understand. You just become so attached to them. I want another one, and since I’ve owned a WRX and Legacy, the next logical step is an STI no? The hunt begins….

Leave a Reply

