The Touge-Otaku

Driven by the Love of the Drive

2012 Ford Mustang BOSS 302

Yeah, you can go ahead and add this to my list of DO WANTS.

So Boss 302, apparently that means something to the Stang-boys (<-Mustang+fanboys, see what I did there?). Look, I’ll admit that I’m no fanboy of the mustang (okay, maybe NOW DAYS I am, but not so much growing up), but I do know that the Boss 302 was, in some peoples words, the best Mustang ever built. Pretty high standards for the new one to live up to then huh?

The facts: Everything is improved. The end. Oh, you want some specifics? Better breaks, better suspension, better clutch, and a short-throw shifter are all part of the plan. And then there’s the power, which is up to 440 HP and 380 lb-ft of torque. Wow, who needs an M3 indeed? Well, I wont go there, because that’s been known to cause some nasty debates as of late…

The best part for me though?

A steering wheel, wrapped in ALCANTARA!!! Alcantara is such a wonderful material. If you’ve never held an Alcantara-wrapped steering wheel, do it. You’ll end up like me and think that anything less is crap. I would wrap all the steering wheels in the world in Alcantara if I could!

Oh yeah, and you also get…

Because we know all the serious cars have Recaros.

Yeah, as you can tell I’m completely smitten over the new Boss. I don’t know, it’s just something about it that pulls me in. Would I choose one over an M3? Well, that depends if money is a factor. If it isn’t, no way in hell. If it is? Well, I don’t want people flaming me but…(*psst* I’d take the Boss!)
It’s just a shame that I know there’s no way in hell I could afford one. No official price I could find, but I expect it to be north of 40K, because a well-equipped GT is around there. Tell you what though Ford, let me spec that Alcantara-wrapped steering wheel and I’ll seriously consider a V6 Mustang. Deal? Deal? No? Boo…

Leave a Reply

