The Touge-Otaku

Driven by the Love of the Drive

My Day at SCCA Auto-X (August 8, 2010)

YES, it turns out it is as much fun as it looks!

Well I finally stopped making up excuses, woke up early on a Sunday morning, and got my ass to Aloha Stadium for the SCCA Autocross  event! I’ve been waiting year to do this, and after only four runs (in my car, + one in a 2.5 RS) I can say I am hooked. I will be back, it’s an absolute blast, and it still remains the only legal choice we have here as far as driving your car fast. Although in my case, not very fast. I did come second in my class though!!…………..out of two of course, but we won’t sweat the details. Here’s a video of my fastest run of the day, which would have been faster had I not hit a cone. DAMN THE CONES! Haha, I can see why so much autocrossers say that now. They really are like evil little orange gremlins out to ruin your perfectly good run.

All in all though, I just went out to learn how to control my car better, and to have some fun. And I have to say I’ve succeeded at both! Plus, you don’t have to actually race to have a good time. Any true car fan will get a kick out of just watching some of these cars run, including TWO Porsche 911 GT3s, a Nissan GTR, a crazy Camaro, a bunch of Subies and EVOs, and even a few old school Datsuns just to name a few.
If you’re in the Honolulu area, and you have a car to drive, and you’re thinking about coming out, I have two words for you: DO IT. The friendly folks of the Hawaii SCCA chapter make it super easy for the novices. You can find out more about the event at their website, or the handy sub-forum located on Forumshawaii!

As for pics, I have some from heat 2. Heat 1 I was too busy concentrating on watching the competitors and learning the track, and I ran in heat 3 and worked heat 4. Still, a Nissan GTR AND a 2010 911 GT3 ran in heat 2, so it was more than enough! Head over to my flickr to see the pics, because I like save space here laddat!

Leave a Reply

