The Touge-Otaku

Driven by the Love of the Drive

Top Gear: Tribute to Ayrton Senna

Quick, watch it before youtube takes it down! I have to say that this episode of Top Gear overall was one of the best, and I have seen them all. Seriously, it’s right up there, maybe even the best? Well, certainly the best in recent memory. And the Senna piece was the cherry on top.

One of the best piece of films Top Gear has ever done. I especially love the bit with Lewis driving Senna’s car. Just epic. I got into F1 way too late to understand the extent of Senna’s skills, but watching this and other old footage, you have to admit that the man was one hell of a drive. I don’t claim to have a greatest driver ever candidate because as I said I got into F1 way too late in life, but with THAT many F1 drivers all agreeing, hard to argue Senna as number one yeah?

And on another note, the film also reminds me how awesome a racing firm Honda was back then. What happened, seriously???

4 responses to “Top Gear: Tribute to Ayrton Senna

  1. Stanley July 26, 2010 at 4:37 am

    I got into F1 in 1991. Shortly after Senna reached the peak of his career. I kept wishing I could’ve discovered him earlier during the late eighties. He was the reason I started watching F1 but too bad, my interest waned after 94 shortly after his death.

    The Honda engines, just wow. I wished I could’ve witness their total dominance during a season where Senna-Prost won nearly all the races.

    My family and friends weren’t into F1 at that time. They caught the bug during Schumacher years and they used to ask me why I stopped watching F1. I hope they caught this Top Gear episode.

    Kudos to Top Gear for this excellent episode. The Senna tribute had me teary eyed reminiscing how I once worshipped one of the best F1 drivers of all time.

  2. arvind July 27, 2010 at 10:22 am

    This part of the video is from which episode? Its very good

  3. fall3nbs July 28, 2010 at 9:30 am

    FFUUU they took down part 1. I too, got into F1 really late. This year actually since I found out Schumacher was racing again, but for Mercedes GP.

    I miss the Honda racing team, but now they are battling it out to make green cars with Toyota. Honda died after the S2K kicked the bucket.

  4. Vlad July 29, 2010 at 12:25 am

    arvind & Stanley, not seeing Senna in the 80s and early 90s – you’ve unfortunately missed out. His duels with Alain Prost, his personality. A great driver and most likely an even greater person (just look at his charity). My boyhood hero.

Leave a Reply

