The Touge-Otaku

Driven by the Love of the Drive

2011 Subaru Impreza WRX/STI

More pics of the new and improved Subies after the jump.

So first-drive reviews have hit the net today of the reworked 2011 Subaru Impreza WRX and STIs. Autoblog in particular took some really well-done shots of the new sedan versions of both, so I’ll be using their pics here. Let’s start off with the WRX.


So little-brother WRX finally has the looks to keep up with its performance. You may have heard that the current generation WRX received a significant boost in power and handling back in 2009, bringing it perilously close to STI-like numbers. And now for 2011, they’ve updated the sheetmetal to blur the lines between the STI and the WRX even more. Honestly, I really couldn’t blame anyone who’d want to save a significant amount of money, and buy a car that is about 85% of the STI.


Ah, the STI. It’s nice to see the sedan back, and the big “look-at-me!!” wing as well. Sure, the WRX/STI has always looked too boy-racer for some. But hey, at least it has the performance to back up the looks. As far as the sedans go, I have to say I’m quite smitten with them to be honest. I have no idea why. I can certainly see why a lot of people think they look like a pimple that was popped in a massive rage-fit, but for some reason, I like the look of it. It looks menacing, angry. It just looks mean. It’s the sort of car to me that screams “out of my way children and old people!!”. I’ve always had a soft-spot for hatchbacks, and 8 out of 10 times I’d chose a hatch over a sedan. But…with the WRX/STI, I’m honestly not so sure. I am sure I’d regret not picking one over the other though.

Now as you suspect I want one. I know there are a lot of cars I say I want, but there’s some water behind the steam here. I’m on my second Subaru now, and that’s not by coincidence. There’s something about owning a Subaru, they just draw you in. I’ve talked to numerous former owners who’ve switched makes and they all tell me the same thing: they regret selling their Subaru and want another one. It’s very hard to get rid of mine (well not THAT hard in the case of the Legacy and its stupid transmission, but that’s another story…), but with Subaru pumping out cars I want I may not have to. The STI is a big WANT, but I’m just not sure I can do a 35K car. Now the WRX on the other hand……….well check back in the Fall when these cars are supposed to hit Hawaii dealers!

As said earlier, mucho-thanks goes out to the folks at Autoblog for the awesome pics! Take a look at the full galleries for the STI and WRX!

And read the first drive reviews for yourself! As well as one from another personal-favorite site, Inside-Line as well!

Leave a Reply

