The Touge-Otaku

Driven by the Love of the Drive

My First “Euro”

A lot of friends have been telling me I have a weird obsession with Euro-cars these days. And with the amount of Top Gear I’ve been watching, they’d be right. I’m almost 90% certain my next car will be of European descent. However I realized last night that it won’t be my first. Well, sort of…

I just remembered last night about my last Honda, a 2002 Civic Si. I know what you’re thinking, that’s a Honda you idiot! Honda’s are Japanese. Yeah, I know no duh. BUT, not many remember that the EP3 is based on the Euro-version of the civic, and that ALL Ep3s (even the JDM Type-Rs) were built in Swindon. Which is in the UK. Which means I did own a European built car!

That also made me realize what a fun hot-hatch it was. Sure, it was disgustingly down on power (especially since the Euro/JDM versions came with a much better engine), but it wasn’t exactly slow. And it had the most important characteristic I look for in a car now days, it was genuinely fun to drive. You don’t need 300HP to have fun, all you need is a well put together chassis, and an excellent driving feel. Both of which the EP3 had.

And I may have said this before, but I’m one of the few who can honestly say I don’t need a bunch of horsepower anyway. Without a proper track, I’m never gonna use it anyway. Isnt it better to have a car with “enough” power to put a smile on your face driving around town?

I guess you could say the only real problem I had with the EP3 at the time were the looks. But it grew on me after one year of owning the car. And now that my taste in cars has changed, I like it. It reminds me a lot of the MK5/Mk6 GTI (a car you all know I want), which is the quintessential Euro hot-hatch. And while it lacks the sophistication of the GTI, it was more fun to drive.

So I guess you can say the theme of this post is: you don’t realize what you had till it’s gone. Do I want another Ep3? I’m inclined to say probably not, but deep down in my heart, that’s a slightly different story. There are a bunch of cars I want/looking forward to: Fiat 500 Abarth, VW GTI, Ford Fiesta. All small fun to drive euro-boxes. Just a shame my taste in car’s changed AFTER I got rid of the very thing I wanted. But then again, I always do that. That and the fact that my tastes change about every five seconds. >_<

Although if I did get another Ep3, the first thing I'd do is swap the motor. Not for the power, but for the ability to rev to 8000+ RPM.

One response to “My First “Euro”

  1. eseer April 14, 2010 at 7:24 pm

    Hmmm. interesting. did not know that

Leave a Reply

