The Touge-Otaku

Driven by the Love of the Drive

2011 Impreza WRX STI

The STI sedan is back. And no, that’s NOT enthusiasm in my voice….

Subaru today revealed what was under the sheet: the updated 2011 STI version of their WRX Impreza. The changes include beefed up suspension, lighter wheels…….and that’s pretty much it. Same engine, same interior, same exterior treatment. Of course the BIG reveal was the fact that after a three year hiatus, the STI sedan is back.

Big wing and all. Now, I liked the new wide-body WRX sedan a lot, but for some reason the STI just doesn’t do it for me. I mean the wing WORKs on the sedan, but yet it somehow doesn’t work for me. I honestly say I prefer the WRXs looks. Which is odd, since they’re practically the same minus the wing…

What really annoys me though is the fact that despite the new sedan, they haven’t really done all that much to the STI. It’s essentially the same car as when it was first released in 2008. Sure, the stiffer suspension may help a bit, but I honestly don’t think it’ll get it any closer to the hated EVO in terms of performance. And the EVO already BLOWS away the STI in looks. AND not to mention Subaru continues to push baby brother WRX ever so closer as well…

I know that there are features on the STI that justify the extra cost (the trick rear-diff for example). But I honestly couldn’t blame anyone for realistically choosing the 2011 WRX over the STI. The hatch and sedan now look almost exactly the same, and the performance ISN’T $5000 down off the STI. Why waste your money? For a wing?

Full details courtesy of Autoblog!!

Leave a Reply

