The Touge-Otaku

Driven by the Love of the Drive

First Hawaiian Bank International Auto Show, Part 2

Part 2 of my coverage!

It was a lot less crowded today, which was excellent for taking pictures! Still had trouble with people walking into shot, and my prime 30mm lens isn’t exactly easy to use as well when you dont have control of the surroundings. But I wanted the low f-stops and bokeh, so the 30mm it was! Here’s some of the highlights:

The new Hyundai Sonata looks fabulous. And the interior is pretty damn nice as well. As you know, I’m something of an interior man, so I love it when car makers get interiors right. I know it’s hard to get excited about a mid-sized sedan, but I love it when car companies make huge leaps in the right direction. And I think Hyundai has!

The new Inifinti M looks not bad as well. A lot better than the Gs anyway. Still, can’t help thinking that like the G, I’ll grow tired of this look as well. Guess only time will tell…

Oooooo, Audi S5. IMO, a lot better looking than a BMW 3 series coupe. It’s not quite on the M3s level as far as performance, but it also is slightly cheaper than an M as well. I really love this car, and if I was in the market for a 335i……..well, I wouldn’t be in the market for the Bimmer: I’d get one of these. And did I mention that Audi still makes THE best interiors? Yeah, that.

Of course, if I had the money for an S5, I’d have the money for one of these. And I think I’d take the new MkII Z4 over the S5 any day of the week. The new Z4 is such a beautiful car, I love that long bonnet, and those headlights that look like angry eye-brows. And not to mention it has BMWs 3.5L twin-turbo straight-6, so I’m sure it goes like hell as well. Sure the hardtop might have an effect when it comes to handling, but small price to pay. I love it.


I notice I spent a lot of time around the Porsches. Now I prefer Lamborghinis, Ferraris, Astons, and the Audi R8 to 911, but for some reason I’m drawn to the modern water-cooled 911s. Especially the GT3. Love it. And the silver 997 MkII was awesome! The red one I believe is actually a 996 C2S, with a 997 GT3 front end conversion. I could honestly see my self driving a 911 C2S one day. I can only dream about an R8, but for some reason I can actually picture a 911 in my future. Wonder if that’s the reason I’m drawn to them…

Last but not least, thanks to some help from Nissan-Nut, I was able to get a proper shot of the GTR. I don’t really need to say much about the car, you’ve already heard by now how much of a beast this thing is. What I can tell you that the race-rubber this guy runs is insane! The wheels are Enkei GTC-01s, 18x10s +22. I believe the tires were 305s. 305s!! I could only dream about running rubber that wide. I think I’m going to go cry in a corner now…….anyway, look for more of this GTR in the future!! heh heh…

All in all, I have to say that this was a great auto show. I know a lot of people find new cars boring, but I don’t. I love seeing all the new stuff, and being able to see that stuff up close and personal. Only true petrol-heads can appreciate an auto show like this, and I’m glad I got to spend it and meet some who agree with me. And if there’s one thing I can take away from this, it’s that I really like the Ford Fiesta. Yeah, I want one now. Oh boy….

The rest of the pics have been added to my Flickr set! Check um out!!

3 responses to “First Hawaiian Bank International Auto Show, Part 2

  1. eseer April 4, 2010 at 11:10 am

    I think the BMW 3 series and what not have a 3.0L Twin turbo. My friend told me that a simple turbo upgrade in the 3 series would make a beast that could easily spank his M3. Crazy stuff x] haha

    Nice pics joey 😀

    • Joe-Wii April 4, 2010 at 3:48 pm

      You only finding this out now?? the 335i/135i/535i have been out for awhile son! haha Just playin man. Seriously though, when (<- see what I did there!) I buy my BMW, I'm getting the N/A. I love the character of the engine more than forced-induction.

Leave a Reply

