The Touge-Otaku

Driven by the Love of the Drive

First Hawaiian Bank International Auto Show, Part 1

Some of my favorite shots I took at tonight’s FHB International Auto Show!

The FHB International Auto Show is my favorite auto show of the year, hands down. You can keep all your fancy import show cars, I love seeing a bunch of new, completely stock cars all in one big room for you. The added plus is that with most of the cars, you can actually sit in and touch them. It’s brilliant!


Clearly for me the car I was looking forward to seeing the most (apart from the exotics), was the 2011 Ford Fiesta. Of course this being a pre-production model, we werent allowed to sit in it. Still, seeing it in person, I have to say I like it even more. The size if perfect, and it looks even better in person than it does in print. Can’t wait to test drive one.

Ford couldn’t let the Fiesta have all the fun, so they also displayed their brand new Taurus SHO. It’s a really handsome car, but it’s HUGE.

Another pre-production model on display was the Mazda 2. It’s basically a Ford Fiesta with Mazda bodywork and Mazda badges. And for some reason, the Ford is much better looking. This one is just, meh.

Subarus all new Legacy. As you know, I have a Legacy, so I was interested to take a look at the new one. The looks are…….different. I’m not going to call it ugly, but I guess it’s still growing on me? I have to say though, this car is also HUGE. I feel small sitting in it, which I don’t in my current Legacy. However, the interior is a huge step-up, and a really nice place to be, if you like big environments.

What, you might be asking, is a Kia doing here? Well good sir, I happen to think the Kia Forte Koup is an excellent looking car. Yes, I can see how you might think Kia ripped off the looks of the Honda Civic. And while I agree with that, what I think is they took the mundane looking civic, and made it 3x better! Seriously, the aggressive look is much better than a bog-standard civic (Si non-withstanding of course). I really thought it could be a good car………right until the moment I sat in it. Kia (and Hyundai) have been making great strides as of late, but I have the same problem with this car as do with the Genesis coupe, the interior is really rental-cheap looking. And not just cheap looking, but cheap feeling as well. the seats are CRAP I must say, and don’t match the sporty look of the exterior as all. I guess what I can say is that they’re making strides, but Kia is not quite there yet…

Okay enough of the cheap stuff, here’s some high-dollar goodness!

Merecdes C63 AMG. Love it. It’s a shame the crowds prevented me from shooting big-brother E63, because I like that one a whole lot more!


Here’s something you don’t see everyday, a Tesla Roadster!


Porsche Panamera. About the best I could make this car look, it really is as ugly as it looks in pictures.


The SCCA booth had some awesome cars, non more awesome than this old-school GT40!


Ah yes, the Audi R8. It doesn’t matter how much I’ve seen of these, I’m still in love!


Ferrari 599 GTB. Not a fan of the color, but I AM a fan of the car it’s self!


Ferrari F430 Scuderia 16M. Man, love that stripe done in the Italian colors. Never thought I’d see one of these in person. I said that a few more times as well…


Lamborghing Gallardo LP560-4 Spyder. Do I need to say anything really? One of the most beautiful cars ever made, yeah I said it. I love Lambos.


Lamborghini Gallardo LP550-2 Valentino Balboni. Yet another car I thought I’d never see in person. And yet another Lambo I LOVE. The stripe!!!


Lamborghini Murcielago LP670-4 SV. Wow, I was stunned at all the rare exotica that was at this years show! I might have made a post about my friend seeing this beast on the freeway, but seeing it up close and personal is just awesome. I really love this car, I’m a Gallardo man, but this is really swaying me in the other direction. Seriously, I LOVE LAMBORGHINIS!!


However this car was probably the star of the exotic show. A Maserati MC12, the Maserati version of Ferraris bad-boy Enzo. There’s only 50 of these in the world, so it was really awesome to get to see on up close and personal. However, the rarity was the ONLY thing that personally impressed me. I think it’s rather ugly, and its way too big. It’s not only wide which is normal for a supercar, but it’s also ridiculously long. Impressive to see only one of 50 in the world, but for me it was nothing more than that.

All in all, I had a good time at the auto show, I always do. One thing that disappointed me last year were the exotics, there simply weren’t enough good ones. So JN Exotics (the only shop in town who sells these things, so I know it was them) brought the wood to this years show! Ferrari 16m, Lamborghini Murcielago SV AND Gallardo Balboni, and of course the Mc12, the number of rare cars this year was awesome. Yes, if you can’t tell, I’m a big fat sucker for cars I’ll never be able to afford. The other cars were nice too though, especially the chance to see the Fiesta in the metal.

There’s just one big issue I have with this show: the crowds!

This is what you have to deal with all night. Now I’m not blaming the people, I mean they all paid money to get in as well. It’s just really frustrating sometimes, and it’s hard to get proper shots. And not to mention every time I wanted to sit in a car, there was a line. Oh well, I know this is to be expected with a big auto show, but I still can’t help but feeling a little frustrated. And not to mention the fact that I can’t stand crowds in general…

Anyway, I missed a lot of cars. I didn’t get a chance to snap any BMWs, or Porsches. I also missed the two other AMGs on display, as well as all the Audis save for the R8. I’m planning however to go back on Sunday, hopefully during the day right when it opens, when it’s not so crowded. So, stay tuned for Part 2!!

The rest of my shots: here at my Flickr.

4 responses to “First Hawaiian Bank International Auto Show, Part 1

  1. Nissan Nut March 27, 2010 at 7:27 am

    Show us the GTR

    • Joe-Wii March 27, 2010 at 8:04 am

      Sorry, don’t have any pictures of the one GTR that was there, it was behind ropes. I’ll try again tomorrow though!

      • Nissan Nut March 27, 2010 at 8:49 am

        When you go, talk to the booth workers. Tell them you talked/emailed to Brad and it is OK for them to help you remove the white chains (they are clipped on the poles) so that you can take a decent picture and have the people move back. I hate those ropes. Enkei wheels are 18×10 with +22 offset front and back, stock wheels are 20×9.5 front/20×10.5 back and are in the car. Suspension is Swift sport springs 1″ drop front and rear.

  2. Pingback: Ferrari 599 GTO « The Kuruma-Otaku

Leave a Reply

