The Touge-Otaku

Driven by the Love of the Drive

Volkswagen Polo GTI

Screw the Golf GTI, THIS is the GTI I want! Oh wait, we don’t get this here…

Yesterday VW gave a teaser of their upcoming GTI version of their small car the Polo. And I have to say, danm! It looks almost exactly like a Golf GTI, and that’s not a bad thing. The Polo GTI has a 1.4L Turbo AND Supercharged engine producing 178HP. Yes, you read that right, it’s a dual-charged engine! Seriously, how awesome is that!? It produces 178 HP and 184 lbs-ft of torque. Unsurprisingly, it’s just a bit less then the Golf, but still helps the Polo reach 0-60 in 6.9 seconds. However, the only transmission choice seems to be a 7-speed DSG gearbox. Now, the DSG isn’t the problem, I love DSGs. It’s the fact that it has 7 gears! Seriously, does a car this small need that much?

The sell for me though: the interior! Look at it! It’s just as good as the Golfs, and the Golfs interior is the number one reason I love the GTI so much. I just love those plaid seats, it’s so retro cool. I know, I’m a sucker for gimmicks like that, but come on! The thing I love about the Polos interior, and the Polo GTi in general over the Golf, is that it’s almost exactly the same, yet simpler and cheaper. Take the steering wheel for example, it looks the same as the Golfs, yet it’s missing all the push-button on it. And it makes the interior overall look less cluttered, which is a good thing. Also, it seems the Golfs touchscreen media player is carried over here as well, and I can only hope it’s standard on the Polo GTI as well.

Now as you can tell by the tone of this post, I really want the Polo GTI. I’m almost wiling to say that I’d take this over an Abarth 500. I really really like the MkVI Golf GTI, so if you take everything that I like about that car, and put it in a smaller package, I’m sold. And now we get to the catch: they probably won’t sell it here in America. This thing gets way too close to the GTI in performance,and IMO VW America doesn’t want the Polo cutting in on GTI sales. And that’s a damn shame, because it’s a car I really really want. Well, they are bringing the regular Polo (allegedly), so maybe there’s still hope yet. Although if not, guess there’s always the Fiat 500 Abarth!

Leave a Reply

